WWABC 2020: March 14th, 2020

Jennifer Cohan was appointed in January 2015 to lead the Delaware Department of Transportation (DelDOT), becoming the third woman to serve in this role in the department’s 100 year history. Prior to her appointment, Jennifer served as the Director of the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles for eight years, and her state public service career has spanned more than 28 years. Her previous work includes serving as the Financial/Program Manager at the Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) managing the state’s Clean Water Program, and working with the Delaware State Legislature within the Office of the Controller General.

Ms. Cohan has also held an array of leadership positions within DelDOT in the areas of planning, finance, and Motor Carrier Safety.

Jennifer graduated summa cum laude from Wilmington University with a Bachelor of Science in Business Management and a Master of Science in Public Administration and also attended the Fels Institute of Government at the University of Pennsylvania. She remains involved with Wilmington University as an adjunct professor teaching leadership and public policy in the master’s program. Secretary Cohan currently serves as the Vice President of the Northeast Association of State Transportation Officials (NASTO), Vice-Chair of ITS America Board of Directors, Chair of the I-95 Corridor Coalition’s Executive Board, Chair of the Committee on Transportation System Operations (CTSO) and Co-Chair of Cooperative Automated Transportation (CAT). In addition, she is also a member of: · The American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Board of Directors · The Northeast Corridor Commission · The National Operations Center of Excellence (NOCoE) Board of Directors and Vehicle to Infrastructure Deployment Coalition.

Beyond her professional duties, Jennifer is an active board member of the Greater Dover Boys and Girls Club and serves as Chair of the Southern Delaware American Heart Association Board of Directors. In 2016, Jennifer was honored with the Kent Distinguished Citizen Award by the Del-Mar-Va Council of the Boy Scouts of America for her commitment to public service.

Close Menu